Pular para o conteúdo

History of Namibian Presidents

The Former President

His Excellency: Dr Hifikepunye Pohamba


(born 18 August 1935)[1][2] is a Namibian politician who served as the second President of Namibia from 21 March 2005 to 21 March 2015. He won the 2004 election overwhelmingly as the candidate of SWAPO, the ruling party, and he was re-elected in the 2009 election. Pohamba was the President of SWAPO from 2007 until his retirement in 2015. Pohamba is a recipient of the Mo Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership. Prior to his Presidency, Pohamba served in various ministerial positions, beginning at Namibia's independence in 1990: he was Minister of Home Affairs from 1990 to 1995, Minister of Fisheries from 1995 to 1997, Minister without Portfolio from 1997 to 2000, and Minister of Lands from 2001 to 2005. He was also Secretary-General of SWAPO from 1997 to 2002 and Vice-President of SWAPO from 2002 to 2007


Term of Office: 2005 - 2014, His Excellency Dr. Hifikepunye Pohamba Believed in unity with diversity and brought together the Namibian Nation, raised the living standards of the poor, upheld the rule of law, promoted good governance and put measures in place to tackle corruption and was committed to the promotion of gender equality.

The Founding President

His Excellency: Dr Sam Nujoma

(born 12 May 1929) is a Namibian revolutionary, anti-apartheid activist and politician who served three terms as the first President of Namibia, from 1990 to 2005. Nujoma was a founding member and the first president of the South-West Africa People's Organization (SWAPO) in 1960. He played an important role as leader of the national liberation movement in campaigning for Namibia's independence from South African rule. He established the People's Liberation Army of Namibia (PLAN) in 1962 and launched a guerrilla war against the apartheid government of South Africa in 1966, beginning after the United Nations withdrew the mandate for South Africa to govern the territory. Nujoma led SWAPO during the lengthy Namibian War of Independence, which lasted from 1966 to 1989.

Term of Office: 1990 - 2005: His Excellency Dr. Sam Nujoma, the Founding President of the Republic of Namibia and the Father of the Namibian Nation led the country to political freedom. During his tenure he unified the country by adopting a reconciliatory approach, which brought the much-needed peace and stability to Namibia.

His Excellency Nujoma retired on the On March 21, 2005.






© Government of Namibia. Hosted by the Office of the Prime Minister.